top of page

Supporting the cause by supporting a new Team Fox family member

Lately I’ve felt like I haven’t really been contributing much to the cause. I find myself in more of a background role, itching to get started again on a new Parkinson’s project.

Emily and I went up to Morristown, N.J., recently for a friend’s fundraiser, and I was telling Stephanie, from the Michael J. Fox Foundation how I was feeling. She reminded me that in supporting those people and getting others involved in the cause, I’m still doing something amazing.

The next week, I really got to see this in action at the Philadelphia Marathon. And I’m so grateful.

Months ago, I got a Facebook request from a person I didn’t know. Sully’s grandfather was just diagnosed with Parkinson’s. She lives here in York, and the rest of the family is up in New York. And she wanted to learn more about the disease and just talk. I was also able to help her find a new doctor in NY who spoke Spanish, through Partners in Parkinson’s.

When my family was in town, we met up with Sully for coffee. We chatted for an hour or so, just about our experiences with the disease, and our desires to be there for our loved ones and do anything we can for the cause.

Right around that time, Sully decided to run the Philly half marathon for her grandfather. She’s not a runner, and she had three weeks to train. She set her goals and started raising funds.

So of course, on that Sunday morning, I woke up around 5 a.m. and made my way to Philly to meet up with her family and friends. I had the honor of spending that morning with her mother, grandparents, roommate and roommate’s family.

For me, the highlight was watching Sully give her grandfather her medal after she was done. Sully also explained to her family who I was after the race, and her grandmother hugged me and thanked me for “saving them.” Yes, I cried.

It was an amazing day, and I am struggling with how to put it into words. Instead, I’ll just show you my favorite photos.

Sully has raised $2,600 so far for Team Fox. Her goal is $3,500. If you’re looking for a way to help out this holiday season, please throw a few dollars her way. 100% of all donations go straight to funding research.

Sully, I am so proud of you! It means to much to your family and you’re not just doing it for grandpa. You’re doing it for my dad and my family, too. You’re part of my Team Fox family now, and there’s no getting rid of us.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page