top of page

This is simple unless you don't listen


I know it has been a long time since I have written a blog. Maybe it is because nothing has happened recently worth witting about. Nope. Plenty to write about, like a trial for an inhaler application to reduce “off time,” I have been in for 10 months, that works really well. Guess I’m just lazy.

Lazy can kill you. There are many examples. I want to talk about lazy and stupid. As you all know I have been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease since 2006. Since the beginning, my doctors have been persistent in their admonishments about getting an annual exam from a dermatologist for skin cancer. Melanoma, in particular. We talk about PD as a disease that keeps on taking. Well, in the case of melanoma, it gives. It gives us a higher propensity to get skin cancer of the worst kind.

Now, I play golf as many times per week as I can. A lot of the time is in the heat of the day (in Florida). I also grew up at the Jersey shore before sunscreen (plenty of baby oil though). I righteously put 50 SPF sunscreen on my face, with special attention to the two pieces of bacon on the side of my head, known as ears. Plenty of sun screen on my arms. Sunglasses to protect my eyes. I then take the excess for all of the above and “do my legs.” So I’m okay, right? Nope, lazy on the legs.

Six months ago I noticed a very small new mole on my leg. I watched as is grew quickly, but I was concerned but not crazy. Three weeks ago, I visited my dermatologist. First question “Anything new that concerns you?” I pointed to my new change. Upon examination, he found that it had three of the five characteristics of melanoma. Biopsy and wait for the “all clear” call. The call came unusually quickly. “we need to see you.”

They did not use the “C” word. Preliminary indication was dysplastic nevi, an atypical mole, with abnormal cells which increase the chances of developing melanoma. But, they wanted to remove more “to the margins” to further evaluate the issue. The small spot was now an 1 ¼" incision. No golf and try and stay off it, to allow the stitches to heal for two weeks.

This story has a good outcome. No melanoma. Higher diligence on Cecily and my part (monthly body exams). Six month visits to doctor. An admonition to be more diligent with sun screen. The one thing I did right was that I did notice it and brought it up.

So my friends, you are forewarned, those of us with Parkinson’s have a higher risk of melanoma. Keep your eyes open, your mind alert, and your mouth active. I consider myself lucky. I knew melanoma was shooting bullets at me, I was lazy and I got away with it, this time. Don’t be like me. It is not hard to protect yourself. Don’t be lazy. You may not be so lucky.

Two shoes on again.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page